What a day.

January 20, 2009

What a country.

In the build up for today, that began sometime during the weekend, I had already decided that it might be necessary to take part of the day off. I didn’t want to miss a beat. And I didn’t want to wait until I got home from work either. In fact, had this been back in the day, I would have kept my kids home so that we could have watched it together.

As it turns out, work came to a halt as one by one entered and gathered around the television. We are quite an interesting cross-section of Americana, but there we all were; sitting together to witness something that some of us had dared to dream of, and I am sure others feared we will regret. None the less, it was a moment in time that everyone wanted to be a part of. We didn’t plan it that way. In fact this is the first inauguration that has drawn interest outside of casual water cooler talk in the 17 years I can attest to. Interesting.

Tonight on the news they said that amidst the gazillions of people in the capital today, not one arrest was made. Amazing. Even in our own gathering, aside from one nasty little critique of Aretha’s hat, nary a negative thought was shared. Do you think we are moving to higher ground? Ah, if it would only last more than just today.

I loved every minute of it. In fact I have been soaking it all up for a few days now. The crowds of regular people just like me, and not like me at all, filled with anticipation, excitement, and hope. Hope. Hope.

And I couldn’t wait to get the text of the speech, the poem, and the benediction. Each time I read them over, they say something new to me. Willi missed the benediction by Rev. Dr. Lowery, so we watched this clip again tonight. Oh, so good. Here is my favorite part:

“With your hands of power and your heart of love, help us then, now, Lord, to work for that day when nations shall not lift up sword against nation, when tanks will be beaten into tractors, when every man and every woman shall sit under his or her own vine and fig tree and none shall be afraid, when justice will roll down like waters and righteousness as a mighty stream.”

I’d like to make some tractors from tanks. Hope, hope, hope.

mrpresident

What a day.

What a country.

6 Responses to “What a day.”

  1. katy Says:

    We watched it over here on the TV, the making of history, even I feel full of hope, and yes please make those tractors x

  2. Molly Says:

    The day was glorious. We were able to watch the event in our classes too. When the note came up on the television that Obama was officially president even before the swearing in ceremony, my students spontaneously clapped. I was so proud of them and us. I think that we are moving to a higher ground; our president is leading the way. However, he has asked to come along to that higher ground.

    Yes, we can.


  3. Amen, sister Gawilli!! It was a glorious day full of hope and anticipation for the future. I loved every minute of it, too!!!

  4. daddyd Says:

    It was a very good start and his team has been working to get the USA rolling. His plan is coming together at this time.

    The 5 billion dollars for Indiana should come through me and then to Mitch so that there is an additional check and balance on what Mitch wants to do with the money.

  5. dilling Says:

    can i day, people all over here were watching as well….
    and still are.

  6. dilling Says:

    oh, i meant, can I say?
    and yet i said can i day???? canada???? what would Freud think of me, eh?


Leave a Reply

