I Give.

February 7, 2009

I’ve been fiddling around with this silly blog for the best part of the day. All I really wanted to do was find a new look – something that would allow me to download my own pictures into the header. Like I have been. Only different. There were a lot of possibilities and I tried them all. Several times.

Then I got the bright idea to create my own custom header with a couple of pictures and a title. How hard could it be? My daughter did it here and here. Never mind that this is her profession. I’m her mother. She had to get at least some of it from me.

So for a good three or four hours I messed around with one little picture and some text. Oh. My. Gosh. It was much, much harder than I expected. I used to be pretty good with paper, scissors and glue, but I know when to call it a day. Or a night, as the case may be.

Clean and simple was what I was looking for anyway. Really.

9 Responses to “I Give.”

  1. Hilary Says:

    I’m sure your daughter will help you out… right?

  2. gawilli Says:

    Hilary – I’m sure she will, but I come from a long line of “I want to do it my own self”, and “I don’t want to wait”. Honestly, it wasn’t a bad way to spend the day. The simplicity of this design is growing on me and most of all, I have a much greater understanding of her skills. I can wait for something truly grand. Did I say that?

  3. daddyd Says:

    Some things are just not as simple as one would like them to be. However, after it is known how to do it, it is simple no matter how complex the thing was in the first place. You are right, working on it will produce results sooner or later.

  4. Molly Says:

    Clean and simple is good. However, I bet a new header with pictures would be great too. Eventually, you will have it figured out. After you know the secrets, maybe you would like to create a new template for the church website. πŸ™‚

  5. Patsy Ann Says:

    I know the feeling of the flustration that you are feeling! I too, thought I could whip out a decent header, and then I sit crying in my towel over the results. Now, I just put up a photo, I haven’t been keeping it currant, but lately I have been taking the time to at least change my season, or try to! Keep on, keeping on there Gawilla, after all what those kids can do, we should be able to do better! Haaa Haaa

  6. Patsy Ann Says:

    Gawilli in answer to your question about my header. The photo was taken from the porch of laundry/restrooms building that was located across from our RV (yes- the blue one in the photo)– in Tall Chief RV Park, Fall City, Washington which is a small (don’t blink you will miss it town) located about 20 miles southeast of Seattle.

  7. Cazzie Says:

    Simple and sweetb just as we all like it πŸ™‚

  8. Tink Says:

    Actually… I kinda like this no-frills look. It’s clean and uncluttered. The words really pop out. πŸ™‚

  9. debi Says:

    I’m just glad to see you posted. I miss you. Speaking of posting,,I am so lazy.


Leave a Reply

