Some Things

May 8, 2009

Some things I can’t remember. I’ll start off in a sentence and find myself searching for a word that is familiar but won’t come. Eventually I find it, and then again maybe not. Sometimes I will have a fleeting glimpse of a long forgotten time or place in my life, but can’t quite bring it back. I figure this is just a part of getting older.

But some things come back so clearly after all these many years. Like how to bait a hook. Or how you have to hold a fish to take the hook out of its mouth, placing your hand ever so gently at the top of its head,  sliding down over the fins so the spines don’t take their toll. And how you hold the hook at the hilt and work it through the flesh in a way that causes little harm to the fish so that you can set it free to grow bigger for the next time you go fishing. My dad taught me this. Willi says that’s why I still remember. I think he’s right.

7 Responses to “Some Things”

  1. Willi Says:

    Years of repetition plus the spiny reminder when you forget to hold the fish the way Dad taught you, that’s what is!

  2. Patti (mom) Says:

    I bet you have a lot of those “older” memories. I know what you mean about those moments. I just checked in today to wish you a Happy Mother’s Day.

  3. Cazzie Says:

    Amen to that, my dad also taught me to fish, and it ALWAYS comes back..and now, I get to pass it on to my children, one at a time 🙂

  4. Hilary Says:

    Geesh, and I’m only now, after all these years, learning how to fish. And it sure doesn’t come naturally to me. Especially baiting the hook and removing it. Hope you had a lovely Mother’s Day. 🙂

  5. dilling Says:

    my dad taught me “please and thank you.” and i like the suprised look on people’s faces when they hear it…

  6. Tink Says:

    May it always be the trivial things you forget… to make way for more of those important memories. 🙂

  7. margarethall Says:

    Hi,…I can relate. Oft times I cannot remember where my morning coffee cup is, but I can remember so very clearly my “skate key” for my street skates, and how I wore it about my neck with pride!
    I have memories of throwing back some perch in Missouri….


Leave a Reply

