firing on all cylinders:

February 8, 2010

having all its cylinders working and thus providing the maximum amount of power. The old car is firing on all cylinders despite its age. This thing’s not hitting on all cylinders –  The Free Dictionary.

One of the things I enjoyed most about last week was watching how my grandson connects thoughts. That’s the neat thing about grand-parenting. Living a distance away that allows for snapshots of development, I am constantly intrigued by things I took for granted with my own children.

His mother told me to have the waffles ready when he got up in the morning or he would cry crocodile tears. I had the waffles ready, but I forgot about the cup of milk. He instantly opened the drawer where the plastic cups are stored and offered one up to me for filling. He scooted into the living room when he was finished eating and when I called him back to get his hands washed, he responded by walking back to me,  then shifting the cup from one to the other while I wiped them off. When the television screen went blank, he looked at me and then the screen with hand extended.

At not quite 18 months, the thought process is all there even though it is not displayed verbally. At least not in any form that I can understand. Yet we communicated wonderfully. I loved watching how he thinks through things and adjusts appropriately. Friday afternoon I sliced an apple and asked him if he would like a piece. He had the cup in one hand and a car in the other. He handed the cup to me, put the apple in his mouth, took the cup back, and headed into the living room to watch television. This car is firing on all cylinders despite its age.

This thing’s not hitting on all cylinders. Sorry. I couldn’t resist.

5 Responses to “firing on all cylinders:”

  1. Sarah Viola Says:

    I love it when you write about Asher.

  2. gawilli Says:

    I love it that you love it.

  3. Susie Says:

    It’s so fun watching little ones grow and process things.

    I’m glad to see you are back!

  4. Molly Says:

    This whole post makes me smile. I love this age of children so sweet, so innocent. Each day is an adventure.

  5. gawilli Says:

    Molly, I think that is what I enjoy the most.


Leave a Reply

