my life according to dylan

February 20, 2010

or, listening to music like we did back in the day.

Dilling posted this meme few weeks ago, and today I had the time and good fortune to do the same. While fiddling around in the music, an interesting thing happened…

Using only song titles from ONE ARTIST, cleverly answer these questions…
Try not to repeat a song title. It’s a lot harder than you think!
Post as “my life according to (band name)”

In order to be successful, I would need to pick an artist that I liked, but more importantly, one that is a prolific writer. Bob Dylan fit the bill, although the true Dylan fan in our twodom is John. My taste in Dylan has progressed like my taste in wine. My friend Rita calls it “a more mature a palette”. I found a CD I really like a couple years back. That was all it took.

John sent me to My Back Pages, the ultimate website for Dylan fans, where I ended up in a mire of titles and lyrics. Then I had to listen to the songs. So we tapped his CD collection and he hooked me up to the links, by album. As I write, we are listening to Blood on the Tracks, Tangled Up In Blue. I love that song. Best of all, as we listen to the CD, I’m reading the lyrics. READING THE LYRICS! Flashback to the vinyl days when there was actually print large enough to read. Ah, those were the days!

In the midst of all of this, I sucked John into blogging again. He agreed to let me pull his blog into WordPress, and as I write, he is working on the same list I am. I can’t wait to compare his post to mine…

PICK YOUR ARTIST:
Bob Dylan
ARE YOU MALE OR FEMALE:
Just Like a Woman
DESCRIBE YOURSELF:
Tough Mama
HOW DO YOU FEEL:
Like a Rolling Stone
DESCRIBE WHERE YOU CURRENTLY LIVE:
Girl of the North Country
IF YOU COULD GO ANYWHERE, WHERE WOULD YOU GO:
On The Road Again
YOUR FAVORITE FORM OF TRANSPORTATION:
Down the Highway
YOUR BEST FRIEND IS:
Forever Young
YOU AND YOUR BEST FRIENDS ARE:
Shelter from the Storm
WHAT’S THE WEATHER LIKE:
Winterlude
FAVORITE TIME OF DAY:
New Morning
IF YOUR LIFE WAS A TV SHOW, IT WOULD BE CALLED:
Tweedle Dum and Tweedle Dee
WHAT IS LIFE TO YOU:
Simple Twist of Fate
YOUR CURRENT RELATIONSHIP:
If Not For you
YOUR FEAR:
The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll
A FOND MEMORY:
Summer Days
WHAT IS THE BEST ADVICE YOU HAVE TO GIVE:
Gotta Serve Somebody
THOUGHT FOR THE DAY:
The Times They Are A-Changin
HOW WOULD YOU LIKE TO DIE?
I Shall Be Released
YOUR SOUL’S PRESENT CONDITION:
Blowin in the Wind
MOST FAITHFUL COMPANION:
You Gotta Quit Kicking My Dog Around
YOUR MOTTO:
Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right

One Response to “my life according to dylan”

  1. dilling Says:

    i think i am in love…thank you


Leave a Reply

