On Ice

February 21, 2010

The forecast is calling for snow and rain this evening, changing to snow and sleet, continuing through tomorrow with a total accumulation of four to eight inches. I’m one of those strange birds that loves the cold and snow, but I’m finding out this winter that I don’t do so well with ice anymore. I’ve fallen three times so far. The first time I fell to my knees on the driveway trying to get to John with his cell phone for a school call. The second was also in the driveway, on my way to the car heading off to work. We keep the driveway pretty clean, so that’s not the issue. In fact, maybe we keep it too clean. The third was Friday night on the way into a local restaurant. The last two times I ended up on my rump. I’m so grateful for ibuprofen.

It’s a little disconcerting, to say the least. I didn’t think much about it after the first one, or really, the second. But after Friday the only thing I can think of is that commercial where the little old lady says, “Help, I’ve fallen and I can’t get up”! At least it doesn’t happen in the house, as well. It’s a very humbling experience. Mother Nature – 3, Gene – 0. Moreover, it’s an embarrassment. Sure hope none of my neighbors had their camera ready when I went down. I might end up on the world wide web, like this poor guy.

The sad fact is that I grew up on the ice. From the time I was old enough to don the double blade skates, my dad had me out on the ice at my grandmother’s house on Lake Dale. Before that, I slid around in boots. He would clear a big space so I could skate while he would ice fish. I would move from his space to mine with ease, and enjoyed every minute of it. We also skated on Turkey Creek, the little winding stream behind our house. Ah the memories we made there. I hung up my skates when my kids were in elementary school, but never ever had a fear of the ice. Maybe that’s really the issue. I like to think of myself as invincible. I don’t like thinking that I can’t move around with the same confidence and freedom that I’m accustomed to. Hate that.

And I don’t want to use the O.L.D. word. Not yet anyway. I’m thinking I might give these a shot. No laughing. Better to bruise my psyche rather than my posterior. Again.

2 Responses to “On Ice”

  1. dilling Says:

    two years ago, i stepped out of my van, opened the side door to take the cat carrier out to take me cat to the vet…when i turned, i planted myself face first(no time to throw up my hands or the carrier)on the parking lot….i hurt for weeks. i take such care now…and? i see lots of walkers(posties, ie) who wear these things….and i am gonna get some for the next winter with winter weather….not this year, tho. i was wearing short sleeves today

  2. gawilli Says:

    Yes, it happens quickly, doesn’t it? And I was moving slowly anyway…


Leave a Reply

